Jakarta Street Food: Rujak Tumbuk


Rujak is basically a kind of fruit salad made with unripened fruit.  Add heaps of palm sugar and maybe some chili.  In the clip, it’s a variation where the fruit is mashed up.  Interesting to see the traditional utensils the guy uses to make it.  It seems to take him so long to do it, I can’t imagine how he makes a living.  But he seems cheerful enough.  As with some of the vendors I’ve featured previously, this one demonstrates his call as he trudges off.

Oh, and notice the piece of banana leaf which serves as a spoon.  Life can be so much simpler than we make it.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Jakarta Street Food: Rujak Tumbuk”

  1. roche Says:

    Great blog I like it. I will be traveling to Jakarta for two weeks Do you think you can do a Little post with travelers recommendation.

    • aboutindo Says:

      Thanks for your kind words.
      Ok, I’ll start a post with tips about what to do in Jakarta.
      Can you tell me when you will be there and whether it’s for business or pleasure?
      The listings here might give you a few ideas: http://www.jakarta24.com/listing_bar-2.php
      Good luck!

      • roche Says:

        Thanks for the link. I will be traveling the second week of May for 15 days. Not confirmed yet. I got the visa and everything if the company close a business there I will be traveling. I am from Costa Rica (Central America) I think is 2 days in the air :S

      • aboutindo Says:

        Ouch! 2 days is a long time to be travelling. Make sure you factor in a rest before you meet your business partners. They should organise your transport and entertainment, but it doesn’t always work out that way.
        Unfortunately I won’t be there at that time, but I’ll start a few lists of tips for you. You know I’ll want a report on your trip when you get back 🙂

Leave a Reply

