Jakarta Street Food: Es Kelapa (Icy coconut milk)


What did I say about bargaining? Yes, you can bargain for anything, but keep things in perspective.  1,000 rp is an insignificant amount to you. Even if the vendor overcharged you 100%, you wouldn’t notice.  Having said that, I haven’t noticed any vendor overcharging me in Jakarta or Surabaya (sometimes I’ve been undercharged!) but it happens a lot in places that get a lot of tourists (whether local or foreign).

I’ve heard that coconut milk is better than bottled water.  The main complaint I have is they usually mix in syrup when the natural juice is already sweet enough.  Unless I was really thirsty, I would look for a coconut vendor who cuts the fruit fresh so I can drink it straight from the nut.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

